• 028 9145 9590
  • info@standrewsbangor.org.uk
  • 111 Clandeboye Road, Bangor, BT20 3JW

About Us

We are a group of ordinary people from different backgrounds, life experiences and ages, who have one thing in common – our love for God, what He has done for us through the life, death and resurrection of Jesus, and our desire to share His love with those around us.

None of us have life sorted – we’re all ‘works-in-progress’. But we believe that the message of Jesus is Good News for everyone, and the life He offers now and for all eternity gives us hope in this life, through death and forever. We’re seeking to live as Jesus’ disciples – people who are learning to walk in the ways of Jesus, and living this out in our everyday lives.

If you would like to know more about what we believe please check out the Presbyterian Church in Ireland website

Meet the Team

In St Andrew’s we engage in a shared ministry where everyone is encouraged to use their gifts in the service of Jesus, both within the church family and in the wider world. Every member of the church family therefore, is part of the team!

We have two specific leadership teams – the Kirk Session and Congregational Committee – which have responsibility for different aspects of church family life. These are as follows:

The Kirk Session

The Kirk Session oversees the spiritual life and work of the church family, and is made up of a team of Ruling Elders and the Minister. Some of the main responsibilities of the Kirk Session include encouraging and building up God’s people, helping them to follow Jesus each day; ensuring God’s Word, the Bible, is faithfully taught and shared across all generations; and supporting and encouraging the various ministry teams that take place in the church.

The Elders of St Andrew’s Presbyterian Church are:
Robert Beers
Alan Briggs
Daphne Campbell
Stephen Carroll
Kathy Croskery
Les Dick
Richard Gawn
Jim Hill
David Hooks
Keith Hooks
Walter Hope
Mark Johnston
John Little
Neil McGurk
Matthew Tomes
Mildred Wylie

Congregational Committee

The Committee works with the Kirk Session to coordinate the maintenance and development of the church building complex, oversee the finances of the church family, and look after all the administrative work that is involved in the life of the church family.

The members of the Committee are:
Seona Carroll
Norman Clark
Andrew Croskery
Lisa Gamble
David Little
Dave Michael
John McBride
Stephen Rowan
John Stevenson
Sandie Thompson
John Wylie
And members of the Kirk Session.

Meet our Minister

Mark Johnston has been the Minister of St Andrew’s since June 2016. He’s married to Gillian and they have three children – Daniel, Peter and Sophie. Originally from Templepatrick in Co Antrim, Mark and his family love being part of the St Andrew’s Church family, getting alongside people from the church and wider community, pointing others to Jesus, and encouraging followers of Jesus to grow in their faith each day.

If you need help and support and would like to get in touch with Mark, please get in touch:
Email: minister@standrewsbangor.org.uk